Looking at Life from the Threshold of Death

Yesterday I wrote about the moment I’d come face to face with death.

I classify the experience that late-summer evening as my first all-out panic attack. (I had a far milder episode a few weeks before after leaving the bankruptcy attorney’s office for the first time.) Though I’ve not been diagnosed with any condition, had anything remotely like it since or told another person about either occurrence, I’m fairly certain the symptoms fit the criteria.

My life had reached a crossroads.

Over the two months between those incidents, the business I’d labored to build through several months of obstacles closed just ten weeks after finally opening. I had traveled 4,500 miles in three weeks visiting chiropractic offices in search of a new opportunity. Money was evaporating and it seemed everything I had wanted to do was vanishing with it. Yet, at the very lowest moments then and since, one thing has never been extinguished—my passion.

I am fascinated by life.

Through several thousand hours of classroom lecture and personal study, as well as caring for people in practice, I have come to the conclusion that we are the greatest invention of all time. There is nothing more complex, more intricate or more wondrous than the workings of the mind and body. I gush over the possibilities, the built-in potential, the no-nonsense simplicity.

This love makes me want to remind everyone I encounter what they have been given.

Most messages we receive in life tell us we aren’t good enough. At a time in history when we are constantly made to feel inadequate—bombarded by ads for everything from underwear to “male enhancement” pills—I must tell you there’s nothing further from the truth.

Regardless of what marketing gurus play on, you aren’t lacking anything. No car. No gadget. No pill.

You are a miracle. A beautiful, amazing, powerful miracle.

My whole life, I was haunted by the notion that I might die without having lived. Over time, I’ve decided to focus on the choices I make. Instead of allowing myself to be a victim, ruing what had been dangled before me and pulled away, I opted to affect only what I knew I could:  me.

I was unsure how I would change, I just knew I had to.

Now, you may be thinking, “Uh, if I am the only thing I can control, why am I reading this?”

Fair question.

I believe you’ve come here for a different perspective, a new look at what you are…and maybe who you are. You might be reaching for something physical, observable or tangible to give strength to your tired spirit. Perhaps you feel alone and find comfort in knowing someone else has struggled.

You’ll find the answer within yourself.

I’ve told you this because it is my deepest desire to help you understand how quickly your life can turn, how important it is to seize who you are and express yourself fully for the benefit of all mankind.

That, my friend, is the only way to live.

This is the conclusion of a two-part series begun yesterday by Staring Death in the Face.

RELATED POSTS

“Passionately Believe in the Perfectibility of Man”

Average People Live Average Lives

I Dare You

5 Responses to “Looking at Life from the Threshold of Death”


  1. 1 Pam Steciuk April 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Thank you for sharing your story with us. I’m sure there are going to be quite a few people who can relate to this. And we are amazing, aren’t we? Each of us has the same functioning parts inside our body that help us survive, yet each of us is still unique in our own way – how incredible is that? I choose to live and experience all that life has to offer me. And, I look forward to supporting you along your journey as well!

  2. 2 Jason Eichacker April 13, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Thank you, Pam! It’s definitely a story that required telling after seeing some discouraged souls recently. Sometimes it helps us to be reminded others struggle, in addition to the gentle prodding about our own abilities.


  1. 1 Staring Death in the Face « MeBuilding Trackback on April 13, 2010 at 11:33 pm
  2. 2 “Joy cometh in the morning.” « MeBuilding Trackback on April 14, 2010 at 7:50 am
  3. 3 Pause for Celebration « MeBuilding Trackback on May 6, 2010 at 7:51 am
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


