My Running Partner

In case you’re unaware, I love music.

As I’ve written lately about the rekindling of my romance with running, I’ve decided to take a moment to discuss what I listen to while stabbing the pavement with my feet.

My tunes are my running partner.

They exhort me to keep going and, occasionally, push me too fast. In addition to the solitude of a gentle afternoon jog through the park, having time alone with my MP3 player shuffling through my selections.

I have six exercise playlists.

Four of them are based solely on genre and pictured below. The fifth is a combination of the “Classic Rock”, “Nike”, “Rap” and “Rock” groups when I’m looking to work out to the greatest variety. The sixth is a set of prepared tracks, which are specific to the task of the day.

I’ve always found it easier to get going when I’m certain the rhythm keeps me charged up.

Apart from the occasional expletive–I’m looking at you, Dr. Dre–the lists are remarkably free of objectionable material.

How are we alike? In what ways do we differ?

Classic Rock: Favorites include "When the Levee Breaks" by Led Zeppelin, "Voodoo Child" by Jimi Hendrix, "Under Pressure" by Queen (with David Bowie) and "Turn the Page" by Bob Seger

Nike Playlist: Inspired by music I've seen in ads and movies. "Extreme Ways" by Moby and "Ready, Steady, Go" by Paul Oakenfold are the heavy hitters here.

Rap Playlist: The one with the bad words, though "I Ain't No Joke" by Eric B. and Rakim, "The Projects" by Handsome Boy Modeling School and "Express Yourself" by NWA are all blameless.

Rock Playlist: Always good for a stress-burning angry run, "The Pretender" and "Come Back" by Foo Fighters, along with "Believe" by The Bravery head up this collection.

RELATED POSTS

Running into God

On The Road Again

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


