5 Truths for My Newborn Niece

Image Courtesy of KenRockwell.com

Yesterday, my second niece was born.

This is the first child for my youngest brother and sister-in-law, the Bay Area’s newest 20-inch long, 7-pound and 14-ounce resident. I received text messages throughout the day about how things were going, then was happy to finally see my iPhone ring with his picture and phone number on the screen.

A couple hours later, as I headed out to run, I wondered if I could come up with a list to guide her through life.

If you’ve read this blog more than once, you know I’m expressing what I see as truth through the lens of a grown man evaluating 30 years of decisions before moving into the next three decades.

What would I tell her?

1. You are a miracle.
You are the culmination of billions of perfect reactions in a precise sequence. Each one occurred in an exact manner, without fail, step by step. Every single event was extraordinary, not the least of which was your dad turning off Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and putting down the Wiimote.

2. It’s OK to fail.
Even with all your talents and capabilities, there will be times your results fall short of your expectations. You’ll skin your knee. You’ll get a bad grade on a test. Some unfortunate boy–assuming he passes Grandpa Clark’s thorough background check–will have the audacity to break your heart.

You will falter hundreds or even thousands of times before you succeed.

Learn something each time. Ignoring the lesson makes it easier to be hurt again.

3. Trust yourself.
When faced with challenges, you are the person you must rely on. You alone will reap the rewards or suffer the pain of your decisions. In those moments where your confidence wanes and fear grows, take a deep breath and remind yourself how amazing you are.

When your instincts tell you to go one way, pay attention. Unbridled and lasting joy is a good indicator of the quality of your choices. Live in the “irrational” area where buoyant mind and exultant love reign.

A full life comes from your head and heart working together instead of being at war.

4. Anything is possible.
Your great-grandparents wrote letters that reached a destination across town in days.

Your grandparents connected with people on the other side of the country by phone in minutes.

Your parents communicated by sending emails across the planet in seconds.

All his happened simply because someone thought it could, then expended the energy to make it so.

5. Faith means believing before seeing.
Over and over again, you’ll encounter situations contradicting what you hold as truth. Whether it’s something as trivial as the integrity of your favorite pop star or as overwhelming as the existence of a loving God, steadfast alignment of your actions and ideals–until proven false beyond doubt–will leave you satisfied regardless of the outcome.

Finally, my dear, remember this when you wake up: you are alive and loved.

It will be true every day of your life.

RELATED POSTS

“Passionately Believe in the Perfectibility of Man.”

Learning How To Win

Believing In Possibility

11 Responses to “5 Truths for My Newborn Niece”


  1. 1 Pam Steciuk April 22, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Again, you have hit the nail on the head with this post. Not only is this good advice for the newest addition to your family, it is a good reminder for those of us who have been around the block once or twice. How lucky is this little miracle to have you for an uncle!

    • 2 Jason Eichacker April 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      Thanks, Pam! I just felt like there were lessons I’ve learned–some only recently–I would love to begin whispering in her ear right now…if only she understood English. 🙂

  2. 3 Erica April 22, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Lovely words Ike. Very sweet and thoughtful. Your niece is one lucky little lady!

    • 4 Jason Eichacker April 22, 2010 at 10:02 pm

      Thanks, Erica! It was challenging to run and do my best to remember all five of them. I may have pioneered a new running style that includes counting on your fingers, though!

  3. 5 Lea Marie April 22, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Geeez Jason….way to make me get all misty at work ;-). This is beautifully written and so true. Congrats on the new little lady!

    • 6 Jason Eichacker April 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      Thanks, Lea! I’ll be honest, I had tears in my eyes as I wrote it yesterday evening. Last time I remember being choked up, I was reading “Oh, The Places You Will Go” by Dr. Seuss to my other niece at bedtime.


  1. 1 uberVU - social comments Trackback on April 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm
  2. 2 Looking Back at My Future Self « MeBuilding Trackback on April 23, 2010 at 5:03 pm
  3. 3 4 Reasons Shakespeare is My Shrink « MeBuilding Trackback on April 26, 2010 at 9:35 am
  4. 4 Aiming for Imperfection « MeBuilding Trackback on May 3, 2010 at 10:33 am
  5. 5 Be Brief, Be Memorable « MeBuilding Trackback on May 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


