Let Fish Swim

I believe everybody is smart.

As a professor, I have endless faith in the capabilities of my students. I find myself pulling for them, often becoming as expressive as the most ardent sports fan as I grade exams.

I abhor seeing someone falter.

I’ve realized this is rooted in the knowledge each is giving her individual best, yet at the same time I find myself wondering if I’ve been ineffective.

Have I covered the material well?

Are the questions confusing?

Am I asking too much?

The administration and I have always agreed the best we can do for these women is put them in a position to succeed, both in the classroom and beyond. Until this evening, I’ve blinded myself to a truth which required attention:

Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.”
Albert Einstein

I pondered the quote for a while as I tallied results and sent them out. As I lay there asking myself what I could have done some other way, I remembered a basic fact:

“You know, a test says something about them, too.”

Demanding a perch scale an oak is a ridiculous waste of time.

The aim of the course–and the program, in general–is to produce the most capable medical assistants possible. Making sure the pass rate is 100% does them a disservice, leaving them ill-prepared for the challenges of the field and misrepresenting the university.

Regardless of how reluctant I am to admit it, it’s necessary some are pointed in new directions.

It’s only fair they be allowed to swim.

RELATED POSTS

“Passionately Believe in the Perfectibility of Man.”

Learning How to Win

5 Ways to Make Others Better

2 Responses to “Let Fish Swim”



  1. 1 6 Lessons from a First Class Leader « MeBuilding Trackback on June 2, 2010 at 7:51 am
  2. 2 You are the Answer « MeBuilding Trackback on June 14, 2010 at 7:41 am
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


