On Gratitude’s Latitude

Sometimes remaining grateful is a colossal challenge.

Storm clouds of crisis gather and blot out life’s sunshine.

Problems swell into every corner of your day, squeezing blessings against the wall and out of sight.

Finding something good turns into a chore.

Your weary arms swing frantically against the villain attacking you. Hours of fighting become days–or longer.

Your body and brain tire of the battle.

You’re ready to settle for the struggle.

This is the moment you must turn your mind to appreciation.

Even in trying times, you can find threads of gratitude.

Looking takes effort.

Grope along in the darkness until you get your hands on one and pull. Then, like a magician grabbing a colorful tuft of silk, you’ll find a long string of thanks appear.

Your heart lifts and your strength returns.

The war becomes winnable, if only because you’ve recommitted to victory. Your thanksgiving sheds light on your resources and fans the flame of your will. It arms you for any conflict and will defeat the mightiest conqueror.

Share a content smile and ask your opposition:

“Without acknowledging what you have, how might you expect to be given more?”

ON GRATITUDE’S LATITUDE
(in the mode of an Irish toast)

I’m grateful for lessons every day.
I’m grateful to have time for play.

I’m thankful to loving family and faithful friends.
I’m thankful for finding means and making ends.

I’m grateful for a cupboard full of food.
I’m grateful to have a happy heart when I might brood.

I’m thankful to live under free sky.
I’m thankful for my Creator, up on high.

I’m grateful for the path I have tread.
I’m grateful to have more to do before I’m dead.

2 Responses to “On Gratitude’s Latitude”


  1. 1 Pam May 7, 2010 at 9:36 am

    I love how you describe things in such a visual manner. It puts a person right in your blog. Another great post!

    • 2 Jason Eichacker May 7, 2010 at 4:25 pm

      Thank you, Pam. I make every effort to create verbal imagery. In the end, this came out different than I envisioned when I began. I appreciate your perspective on this, being someone with such a strong belief in gratitude.


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


