You Must Sing the Song in Your Heart

The man that hath no music in himself, nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils. The motions of his spirit are dull as night…Let no such man be trusted.
William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice, Act V, Scene i

Music–like all forms of art–is a gateway into the mind.

Through it, the soul calls forth the imagery of deep truth, recognizing itself in the mirror of common experience.

Melody elicits emotions far more ably than its cousins in creativity, so governed by images or words. Lacking the rigidity of prose or two-dimensional confinement of pictures, notes are able to float through the air, free to land in the brain with the force of a feather or cannonball.

My writings are compositions, symphonies of syllables in the manner of Bach or Mozart.

As I touch my fingers to the keys, I concern myself with arrangement, tone and rhythm. I command my instruments to give strength to my highest voice, that it might serenade you and stir your spirit to raise a hymn in reply.

Without a song in your heart, you’re unable to carry a tune to the world.

Made an instrument of another’s work, you’re a part of the orchestra instead of the conductor.

By playing under the direction of someone else, you’ve given away your greatest gift–you.

And thus, you cannot be trusted.

RELATED POSTS

Choose Your Mission

4 Reasons Shakespeare is My Shrink

I Dare You

2 Responses to “You Must Sing the Song in Your Heart”



  1. 1 Bare Courage « MeBuilding Trackback on June 1, 2010 at 10:18 am
  2. 2 What Do Your Beliefs Require? « MeBuilding Trackback on June 16, 2010 at 7:45 am
Comments are currently closed.




