The Productive Pause

I have to force myself not to run sometimes.

As I’ve redeveloped the habit of daily mileage over the last few weeks, I’ve realized an enforced break is a blessing and a curse. It’s important to take time to heal, to give the road a break from the stabbing of my feet and allow my ligaments and tendons to restore themselves.

What if the sidewalk is where I recover?

I went to bed early Sunday morning after completing the last final exam I’ll ever write in the first teaching job I ever had. Motivated to finish the task and therefore move forward with the next phase of preparing for my big move, I pushed on into the wee hours with little regard for sleep.

Sunday morning arrived and I felt gassed.

As is my custom, I set about doing some of my “small work”, the five- or ten-minute jobs that can add up at the end of the day. My energy waned and I left papers strewn about my floor awaiting grades or filing. I headed off to my other job and sleepwalked through several hours, certain a half-hour to myself jogging in the sun would do me good.

I craved the meditation of 160 strides per minute.

Alas, my desire to avoid overtraining took precedent and I continued slogging through the evening.

One of the best benefits of self-evaluation is learning what your spiritual reset button is.

Plowing through the rocky fields of your mind requires constant, time-consuming effort.

The necessity of rest is unavoidable.

Respect this fact and honor your intentions with a productive pause.

Stopping for a breather halts your progress, but that’s better than losing ground because you kept pushing forward.

RELATED POSTS

The Gift from Above

The Fatigue Soliloquy

You Can Rebuild You

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new MeBuilding posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

The MeBuilding Fan Page

MeBuilding on Twitter


