Viewpoint

Viewpoint is forever changing.

I hiked along Yosemite National Park’s Four Mile Trail and took in my surroundings while climbing to Glacier Point. The path winds from the valley floor some 3,000 feet into the sky and cuts through a stunning redwood forest near the top. To borrow from some fellow travelers whom I spoke with a few times during the three-hour trek to the observation post, “every view is like a postcard”.

Rising higher, each vista became clearer, less cluttered. The trees parted out of courtesy to my eyes, that I may receive every last photon from God’s gallery below me. As fatigue and diminished oxygen took hold, each thirty seconds of rest to snap a picture and appreciate the beauty became a worthy reward.

I had a hard time believing it could get better.

It did.

The whole way up.

The cliffs somehow jutted further out of the evergreen blanket below and became sharper against the blue backdrop, allowing the image to burn my retinas with a crisp clarity and unassuming glory. I stepped out onto ledges as far as I could, hoping I might somehow become closer to the scene and experience it more. I huffed and puffed through a wide smile, enjoying the stillness of Heaven’s front porch.

When you’re in the face of something–or it’s in yours–it’s difficult to see how anything can improve.

The idea of what’s behind you–lower points you’ve passed through–is too fresh, too present to be discarded. Imagination, suspended by a mind preoccupied with recent experience, is unable to guess what good might be around the next turn.

Sometimes you just have to keep walking until you see it.

1 Response to “Viewpoint”



  1. 1 Do We Have To or Get To? « MeBuilding Trackback on September 27, 2010 at 5:50 am
Comments are currently closed.




